Some people believe that students should be allowed to evaluate their teachers to improve the quality of education. Others think this comes with unexpected consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.[491]

The idea of empowering education through students ’ evaluating teachers has raised a debate among academias. Opponents of this practice argue for the turmoil and disheartening condition it creates, while the proponents make their stance on the grounds of its benefit on constructiveness and students ’ engagement in class, yielding the quality of education. Through a critical inquiry on both sides, I myself believe that students should be entitled to give comments on their teachers for better academic performance. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why students evaluation of their teachers should not be permitted. First of all, a wide range of feedback from students can puzzle teachers on the teaching curriculum. Educational demands and difficulties vary among students since their learning abilities tend to be different. For instance, those who might be good at Mathematics cannot keep up with the Literature lessons or vice versa. Such diverse learning capabilites might overload teachers on how to tailor the lesson to suit all students, thus making no teaching progress at all for the entire class. Secondly, some students can have inappropriate comments on their teachers once they have evaluation permission. At this impressionable age, students tend to lack maturity and respect towards their teachers, resulting in holding harsh comments and biased criticism towards their teachers, which demoralizes and sabotages their reputation. Teachers might feel disheartened and insecure when receiving such direct improper feedback. On the other hand, pupils’ evaluation of teachers should be allowed for their own sake. Firstly, students ’ feedback might be constructive to individualizing their lessons at school. Students themselves are realistic and have personal insights in their own studying capabilities and goals. The entitlement to raise their voice in class helps personalize the learning process and pace, ultimately enhancing their effectiveness and productivity. Another reason why evaluation should be encouraged among students hinges on their increased attention in class.If they are permitted to directly contribute to the teacher's performance such as homework, exercises, teaching style, class environment, they might feel a sense of ownership and responsibility. This notion might give pupils the incentives to engage in class, thus yielding better educational outcomes In conclusion, on the grounds of constructive contribution and class engagement of students that assessment of teachers brings, students should be motivated to speak their mind about the learning process. However, to minimize the adverse impact and maximize the potential of this practice, students need to be realistic about assessments and well-taught of respect and praise towards the educators.