Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In the contemporary world, professional dress codes have been introduced in various organisations. Although instructing staff to wear uniforms may increase the level of trusts from potential customers, I think the disadvantages outweigh the benefits as it would tremendously affect staff ’s performance. One of the positive outcomes of workers wearing uniforms is that it can develop trusts among potential buyers, though the increase in brand visibility and, in the end, a greater number of products sold. Provided that a salesperson appears at your door trying to sell a new product, you would not believe that the promoted goods is of quality or actually from a trusted company. That is why many private universities always wear uniforms whenever they go on a mission to promote their university to prospect students, attracting numerous students to enrol in their institutions afterward. Although this is the case, I believe that staff conveniency is worth more attention since it could obviously boost their productivity. Staff productivity is a key to success of every enterprise; however, if the uniform is introduced as a compulsory, it may affect employees’ performance. Unless the materials used to make the uniforms are in high quality, and the design is customised to individuals’ body shape, it would not help the company moving forward to success; in contract, it will restrict staff ’s performance. For instance, female employees in the banking sector in Cambodia are required to wear a uniform that consists of an over-the-knee skirt and a tight jacket. Many complained about this attire as it is difficult for them to travel from places to places. Thus, I think it is better that the company gives freedom to its employee to wear anything comfortable to work so that it would not affect their everyday tasks performance. In conclusion, in sprite of the potential benefits of introduction uniforms to corporations, such as building trusts with consumers, I believe that it is more beneficial for them to free their staff from a hard-to-wear dress code because it would greatly affect their daily operation.