Government spend a lot of money on public celebrations such as national holidays and public festivals. Some people say that government spend too much on this and that they should use this money on other useful things. Do you agree or disagree ?

It is often believed that the government spends a large amount of money on public celebrations, which should be distributed to other more significant areas. I partially agree with this, for it should provide more money to the poor since a stagnant economy make many people suffer from poverty regardless of the importance of the investment in national celebrations due to their long-term benefits. On the one hand, it is necessary for the government to spend a sufficient amount of money on public celebrations because of the incredible effects that they will have on the national economy. In other words, holding special events to demonstrate sophisticated skills and knowledge will attract the attention of an internationalp audience, boosting more opportunities for new contracts and financial support. For instance, a national festival held in Osaka was successful in promoting the local business by exhibiting various unique products such as flying cars and robots interacting with humans. Therefore, their fame for their advanced techniques and creative ideas prevailed in different parts of the world, which led to the prosperity of local industries, making it essential for the authorities to invest in such festivals. On the other hand, it is more urgent for the authorities to invest in public life since stagnant economy has aggravated poverty, for which many people demand financial assistance for their survival. Indeed, a rising rate of unemployment has become a serious issue, which forces many people to live under severe conditions. Furthermore, about 10% of young adults in Japan are not even able to afford to pay for their food and accommodation, promoting their health problems as well. Thus, the government should put more priority on saving lives of those who live such a hostile life than holding national events, which are only beneficial to particular companies and investors. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that public funds should be spent on those whose basic right to live is increasingly threatened by the downturn of economy. While public safety is the most important factor for the government to consider, however, the investment in national celebrations will help local business expand their business opportunities.