Some people believe that the best way to produce a happier society is to ensure that there are only small differences between the richest and the poorest members. To what extent do you agree or disagree? [778]

Closing the differences between the upper class and the working class is believed to be the optimal approach to breed a happier society. There is little to disagree about this statement, which I will elaborate on later. First, a yawning economic gap is the root cause of social resentment. The majority of US wealth, for example, is concentrated at the top 1-percent of its population, leaving the lower classes a tiny portion of cash. This hierarchical imbalance tends to affect other aspects of the working class’s life as well, such as their living conditions and education, thereby lowering their social mobility. The impoverished, therefore, tends to get stuck in the vicious cycle of poverty. Bridging the aforementioned gaps can help mitigate the concomitant issues of poverty, including a poor well-being and extreme social evils, which can bring about a higher level of social satisfaction. To add further credence to my notion, I note the fact that the richest citizens also suffer from these systematic differences. To explain, as a way of stabilizing their social and financial status, the upper class members are often pressurized to pursue the best education and compete for the highest-paying job position. With these prestigious conditions come overwhelming workload and deteriorating mental health. This is substantiated by the reality that the majority of wealthiest individuals claim to develop intense workaholism and have low life satisfaction. In conclusion, keeping hierarchical differences subtle can do huge wonders for almost every member of the population’s mental health and happiness.