Nowadays, more and more employees choose to work remotely, for example from their homes. Many view this as a positive development. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Working from home is the new phenomenon that was almost unheard of five years ago. However, during the pandemic it grew in popularity becuase of the fact that working in close quarters was not possible. Now, however, many people argue that doing a job remotely while workspaces are safe will affect the job in a negative way. On one hand, it is true that while working at home people may not feel motivated and might not even do the job properly. In addition to that, to be in the same space as other co-workers will result in a more active and engaged workforce, an engagement that otherwise does not exist. For instance, I myself have worked in an environment that allowed remote work and in fact, I did more when I was at the company rather than when I was home. On the other hand, remote working offers more flexible hours which is a great advantage. Adhearing to a strict work schedule is tiring. As a result of that, after some time, people will grow to resent their work. As resentment grows, so does a distaste for work and escaping from it or just not working will become common. Take a boring company for examlple, of which we have plenty, and you see the staff are not too eager for their job. Furthermore, commuting and travelling to work and back will take a considerable amount of time. It will also take energy, time and energy that could be put to better use if telecommuting was allowed. For example, I have seen people that spend about two hours a day just commuting and when they get home they do not have the time to do virtually anything. Overall, in my opinion, working remotely is indeed a positive development. A development that will help us stay in good state of mind in realation to our job and also help us to save time and energy. But, it should not be over used otherwise it would result in a lack of motivation.