In some countries, people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is this a positive or negative development?

A growing number of people spending prolonged hours at the workplace has been witnessed in many countries. This essay will shed light on the underlying reasons behind this and argue that this is a largely negative development. The trend of extended working hours can be attributed to two main reasons. One significant reason revolves around the escalating costs of living due to inflation has propelled individuals into prioritising monetary matters. This puts a strain on households’ finances as their daily expenditure is becoming more expensive, which pressures them to work more in order to sustain the costs of living. For example, the UK is experiencing a high rate of inflation, which sharply increases the prices of its domestic products and other sectors, such as healthcare or education, compelling them to work more to meet basic needs. In addition to this, social expectations can exacerbate this trend. In certain cultures, particularly Asia, people are inclined to look at others’ incomes to measure individuals’ success by their income. This resulted in an intangible pressure on adults, pushing themselves to work excessively in pursuit of material wealth and social status. While some might argue that working longer hours can offer financial stability and a higher standard of living, this largely has come with a litany of problems. Chief among these is that spending excessive time at the workplace could weaken family bonds. Indeed, parents who are overly focused on their professional lives often fail to spend adequate time with their children, leading to a lack of understanding in the family. This disconnection can result in long-term consequences, such as conflicts within the household or even an increased likelihood of divorce. Additionally, this trend could take a toll on their physical health and well-being, if workers are overworking for a long time. It is inevitable that prolonged working hours contribute to higher chances of stress and depression as they might lack time for rest, recreational activities, and regular exercise. Otherwise, it demands endurance to keep up with loads of work, which might push workers to abuse caffeine in order to increase their levels of concentration, therefore, adversely affecting their health. In conclusion, the issue of spending longer hours at work can be driven by rising living costs and societal pressure related to financial success. Notwithstanding certain benefits, this trend has a predominantly negative impact on individuals, in terms of family connection and health.