Increasıng the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Increasing the price of petrol will definitely drive more vehicle owners find alternatives to reduce their daily commute expenses.  One alternative is to switch to using public transport for their commute which will reduce the number of vehicles on the road and as a result, will decrease both traffic and pollution. This alternative requires the city to have a well-connected and efficient public transportation system. Another alternative is for vehicle owners to switch to cars that use environment-friendly fuel sources including electricity, CNG and hydrogen. However, the fuel price increase has to be significant enough to justify the premium for switching to alternative fuel vehicles. This would reduce pollution but not traffic congestion on roads. Although increasing fuel prices might drive more people to use public transportation, the vehicle owners will be hesitant to switch to the aforementioned alternatives if the infrastructure of the city does make the transition easy and reliable. Therefore, the government should invest in infrastructure to ensure a smooth transition for its residents. Aside from increasing fuel prices, the government should introduce shuttle services from residential areas to major commercial hubs making the commute for its residents easy and cost-effective. This solution will also decrease pollution and road traffic.