The government is responsible for protecting a nation’s cultural identity. Some people think it is the government’s duty to ensure that new buildings are built in a traditional style. To what extent do you agree?

The government is accountable for protecting a country’s cultural identity, this statement develops people’s belief that new buildings should be constructed in traditional styles. In this essay I will explain why I tend to disagree. First of all, protecting the culture and tradition is absolutely the major task of the government, but it is not only the government ’s responsibility. The nation’s culture is crucial, so every citizen in the country has a liability to protect the culture, because culture is a part of society, and the country itself is not only containing the government. For instance, in Indonesia, they have one motto called “Bhinneka Tunggal Ika” which means Unity in Diversity. That motto is a mandatory thing every Indonesian citizen should implement in their life, not only the government. Moreover, the motto is already embedded since they were just a kid, so they already have the awareness to protect as well as defend the value of the motto itself. Secondly, building can represent the culture, yet it is not only the way to represent the whole culture itself. The use of traditional style to construct some building is a good thing to do, but the society cannot force the government or developer to always construct the building with the conservative style, because the material, the design, as well as the requirement of one building to another must be different, and most likely following the trend or the technology. For example when building an office which has sixty floors, it could be ridiculous when people are forced to build with the traditional style, which is stone or raw wood. The building will easily collapse. In conclusion, preserving the culture and tradition is every citizen of the country’s responsibility. While it is a good thing to do, people cannot force every building in their country to be builded by traditional style.