Some people think that social media websites are a great way to create networks whereas others think that personal meetings are the best means to have a social network. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Increasing popularity of social media has sparked a debate about whether it is the best way to meet others or face-to-face meetings are still more effective than social media platforms. This essay will examine both edges of the discussion and present my stance on it. Proponents of the online platforms often cite several reasons. Firstly, it is easier to reach other people by using them. Each social media user has their own profile which is often reachable by that profile's name so everyone who has a specific profile name can access some important information about that specific user, such as profile photograph and publicly available personal information given at the biography section, and it is possible to send a friend request to that person. Therefore it's possible for a social media user to expand his or her network by knowing only another person's profile name. Secondly, online websites allow people to communicate with their friends who live far away, thus keeping their relation strong. Snapchat, for instance, help people to send daily photographs and videos to make their friends updated about developments in their lives even who live in another country. On the other hand, supporters of personal meetings argue that the vitual networks created by such platforms are not real. People can have more intact, strong, and close relations with others if they lean on to meet them as person instead of spending their time on social media creating artificial and distant relations. In addition, they believe that meeting with new people and speding time with friends in the real world, as they say, help individuals to improve their social skills. If one start spending most of his or her time on social media instead of real world interactions, their ability to socialize with others will diminish. The exprience we had during the Covid-19 pandemic is the prime example since people couldn't go out and socialize, corrupting their skills and leading to social anxiety among many people. In conclusion, many believe that using social media platforms is the most important way to creating and expanding networks, while others argue that real interactions between individuals are still more significant than those websites as they may cause artificial relationships and decaying social skills. I firmly believe that latter opinion is more valid.