To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it's important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

Some people claim that learning history brings children few benefits and it is not useful knowledge these days. This essay demonstrates firstly, the main reasons why this opinion is not true followed by an analysis of how the lack of historical knowledge will affect the outlook of children. To begin with, studying the past is vital to investigate and predict modern economic and political conditions because history has a habit of repeating itself. There are costly wars that result in the destruction of total cities and a large population, for example,the First and Second World Wars which happened in quite a short period due to almost the same reasons. Without studying history children can not be aware of these made-man tragedies, their multiple roots and weird consequences that demand long years for restoration and flourishing. In addition, the younger generation who are not aware of what the atomic bomb did in Hiroshima and Nagasaki immediately after the Second World War can not imagine that the atomic bomb disaster was capable of both cities being ruined entirely, citizens could continue their lives barely through cancer and other illnesses and these illnesses extend until these days over generations. On the other hand, history is important because everyone should know their local traditions and national traits. Today there is a tendency that the population is homogenising at an increasing speed. In these modern conditions, studying history has undeniable significance in protecting the diversity and wealth of local traditions and their valuable means. Every next generation can learn this knowledge only through history study, and only with this cognisance they try to preserve moral values. In conclusion, taught history has paramount significance because, the young should know their national traditions and their roots, and without historical knowledge, they will not be able to prognosticate what brings current political and economic influxes.