In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is considered very important what are the causes of this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Housing become one of the pressing problems in society nowadays. People in some countries still believe that owning a house is a must. This essay will explore what is the root cause and why it could lead to a negative development. There are a lot of explanations why house ownership is very important for some people. Financial security is one of the most common reasons. Thus, people are considering buying residences because the housing prices always increase year by year. This situation happens because the amount of available land decreased significantly in recent years. For example, in Jakarta, more developers are building apartments because there is not enough space at the centre of the city. Additionally, citizens are more likely to buy apartments rather than rent them, it is more beneficial for them because the price that they need to purchase is equal, so it is a better option for them to buy them. However, this situation could lead to many drawbacks for society. It will directly impact the economic stability because maintaining the housing price will be very hard in the next few years. Not only the housing prices, it also impacts other good prices. For instance, in Depok, the price of chilli witnessed a significant growth of around 10%. Moreover, buying power will decrease and producing the product will be difficult. In conclusion, people need to consider shifting their mindset about buying a house is better than renting it. The availability of the land become less and less in the future, if we keep doing this our successor's life may tougher than today.