advantages and disadvantages of being an Australian citizen

Nowadays, having Australian citizenship could give you a lot of privileges that many people are keen to have. According to the Department of Home Affairs (2024) since 1949 the number of individuals who have become Australian citizens and taken citizenship exceeded 6 million. Despite a few disadvantages of being an Australian citizen like the high cost of living, being a citizen offers you many advantages like travel benefits, protection and being eligible for many services that the country provides. Firstly, the ranking of the Australian passport gives the citizen various traveling facilities. Being in fifth place in the global passport ranking for the year 2024 is an indicator of a large number of countries which is 189, that the Australian citizen can go to them easily either without a visa or visa on arrival or even with an electronic visa. For instance, Australians can travel to U.S.A. and U.K without the need of having a visa which is hard to enter these two countries if you have a different passport. Hence, citizens can plan for their trips without thinking about the visa issues that can affect their trip, and they can focus on other details to be able to have a great experience during their journey. Secondly, protection for Australians is one of the most crucial roles that the government provide. Australia protects its citizens rights by the law that applies to anyone, no matter who they are or what is their position in the country. Furthermore, Australia protects their citizens rights who are outside Australia through the Australian embassy, and assists them if they need helpFor instance, they can vote through any overseas voting centre if there is an election happening in Australia which will protect the citizens right to vote. Thirdly, being a citizen will give access to many services that will support you during your life. Medicare, financial support for the elderly and for the university students and many other facilities that are provided by the government, so the citizens could have an easy life. These government-provided facilities not only make life easier for individuals but also contribute to creating a healthier and more educated society. As a result, this will create a strong nation that will support the country to grow and develop more. Conversely, the cost of living is increasing year after year which makes it hard for the citizen to afford to purchase many of their life needs. The cost of basic necessities such as groceries and housing has been steadily increasing, placing significant financial pressure on households. Moreover, one of the obstacles that prevent some citizens from having their own house is the mortgage rate Martin(2024) stated " It's the increases in mortgage rates that have made the increases in the other prices hurt so much". In conclusion, while Australian citizenship may come with certain challenges, such as the high cost of living, the benefits outweigh these drawbacks. The advantages of traveling, preserving your rights, and access to a wide range of public services, provide citizens with many opportunities to improve.