Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measure do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, two of the most common headaches to society are definitely increasing traffic congestion and contamination problems. For some, the most effective way to solve the given issues is by uplifting the price of gasoline, and for me, I partly agree and partly disagree with the opinion. Moreover, to my knowledge, there are still some other methods to fix this, and in the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my view of thinking. Firstly, one of the factors to account for why I don’t concur is definitely related to the higher price of products, or commodities. When applying the method, the transportation fees will also be equivalent to the rising cost, and as a result, making citizens suffer from extravagant goods and might even give the economy a difficult time resolving the case. However, it is undeniable that there is still something positive regarding the given measure. Clearly, nobody would be delighted to pay an extra amount of money just to travel to within-reach destinations, and with fewer vehicles around, we could get a better opportunity to experience less suffocating scenes, therefore, ameliorating our respiratory activities. In short, I believe that this method possesses both disadvantages and benefits, so it is not really the best one with regard to fixing pollution and congestion. Secondly, some of the alternatives that have been developed and gained more attention from global residents are actually taken from natural resources, namely wind energy, solar energy, hydropower,… and many more. Furthermore, by putting these into practice, what we receive comprises enhancement towards the environment and being fearless as there is no energy strain. Frankly speaking, I reckon that the additional solutions are far more effective than rising petrol’s cost. In conclusion, raising the price of petrol might sound beneficial in terms of degrading the extent of pollution and leveling up the ventilation of the general atmosphere. However, as I have explained, this approach still contains drawbacks and one of them has been given out in the first paragraph. Instead, the other aforementioned measures would alter individuals’ concepts and bring a new energy revolution.