Being only child is better than having siblings. Do you agree or disagree?

nowadays, the controversy surrounding the advantages and disadvantages of being an only child has been a prominent topic. From my perspective, while I accept that an only child may suffer from loneliness and sole responsibility for ageing parents, I believe that it is more likely to have positive influences, including better access to financial and emotional support and less sibling rivalry. On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are some problems associated with being an only child. Firstly, an only child may suffer from loneliness due to the lack of other children in the house to play and communicate with. This could negatively affect their communication skills, such as resilience and problem-solving skills, as they are not taught to interact with peers. In addition, when they become adults, they should have all the responsibility to take care of their ageing parents. Therefore, this burden may influence their mental well-being in the long run. On the other hand, I believe that the aforementioned negative influences could be outweighed by the following merits. One primary advantage of being an only child is that sibling rivalry and competition among children are not problems anymore. In fact, the lack of conflicts may contribute to some overall mental health, by decreasing the instances of stress, anxiety and depression. Moreover, being an only child means that emotional support from their parents is not divided among children. With no siblings to compete, children receive undivided love, support, and attention from their parents, which may lead to more self-confidence and stronger child -parent bonds. Besides, by focusing on a single child, parents can provide them with better financial resources, potentially leading to access to high-quality education, extracurricular activities, and healthcare. In conclusion, even though it is beneficial to live in a big immediate family to some extent, I believe that the advantages of being an only child surpass the disadvantages.