In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In other nations, tertiary students have to choose a nearby university where they can go from their family houses and in some countries, they have to relocate to another town to study. In both cases, there are prons and cons but I believe the benefits of studying away from home are more significant than the disantvantages. On the one hand, attending college schools which are far from home has its drawbacks such as lack of discipline. Most students tend to misbehave when they are not close to their parents as there is no one to control them. For example, they start trying new things such as drinking, smoking, sexual activities and drugs, which their parents can forbid them to do if they are living under the same roof. Moreso, they usually forget the importance of staying in touch with their families who can continuously guide and monitor them and they end up going astray. On the other hand, learning far away from family house is an advantage as there are less distractions and students can focus. There are more disturbances at home unlike at school or when living alone and this helps students to have enough self study time. For instance, at home, parents can ask you to do house chores or send you to run some errands and this disturbs a lot as the same time can be used to do some school work and researches. In addition to this, tertiary students need to learn to be independent as this will prepare them for their future and they have to be responsible. This can only be achieved if they are away from their parents. In conclusion, although attending a university far away from home promotes students to misbehave, I believe giving them enough space to study and grow far much surpass the setbacks.