Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the would are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the past three decades, the number of car owners continues to increase, posing the world “one big traffic congestion” leading the world to the global traffic crisis. I strongly believe the world is now facing the problem due to the cars ' usage rate. And it is also a huge challenge for the governments to discourage people from driving their cars. One of the primary drivers for most car users is the lack of accessible public transport. Although public transport was introduced among citizens, the cost is unaffordable. In fact, in some big cities the cost for using a car is cheaper compared to public transport. For instance, In Bangkok, one trip to work by personal car costs around 120 baht, but the cost for using the metro is approximately 150 baht. The pricing gap convinces people to steadily drive their cars. To discourage people from using their cars, the government should provide not only a wider public transport line but also a cheaper price to allow all society classes to use public transport. make them affordable for all socioeconomic classes. Another thing to solve this issue is the policy directly related to cars. Such as, increasing fuel price and car taxes. Additionally, implementing policies directly targeting car ownership, such as raising fuel prices and increasing car taxes.These two policies would make driving a car unaffordable for people, resulting in less car users on the road. would make driving more costly and, therefore, less appealing. To conclude, traffic congestion is a catastrophic effect every nation faces for a period of time. There are several reasons related to this, such as the high price of public transport. To encourage people to avoid driving, the governments should announce the new policy in terms of fuel and car taxes.