In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, some countries are suffering from a higher population. In comparison with past periods nowadays, people are living longer. Some people believe that the older population creates causes for governments. While others argue there are advantages when society has more elders. In this essay, I will explain the various disadvantages and how they outweigh the advantages with relevant examples. On the one hand, the country will face an economic decrease. To illustrate in some countries, the government spends their money on elders' hospital expenses and living expenses. For instance, According to Time magazine The United States of America spend around 20% of their annual income on food, and medicines for elderly people. Additionally, there is a significant impact that will affect the tax and innovation sectors due to a lack of IT and technical knowledge. Therefore, having an older population leads to issues for the government. On the other hand, they still protect the country's culture. In brief, in this modern world, most youngsters do not follow the country's culture. Moreover, many of them even do not know about it. Hence, having old generation people is a benefit to protect the culture. For instance, youngsters can gain knowledge about traditional festivals and foods through them. In conclusion, while it is true that there are advantages to having elder people in society such as maintaining the country's culture, the disadvantages such as the economic decrease, and reduction in taxes and innovations far outweigh the benefits. Therefore, I believe having a more elderly population will impact the country in a negative way.