Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self- employed?

In the present day, a great number of people decide to work independently, rather than to be employed in any institutions. There are many reasons behind this situation and this essay will outline the causes and the drawbacks of this phenomenon. One primary reason why people tend to be self-employed is that it allows them to manage their own schedule, without going to the workplace during the week. People who are self-employed can manage their working hours and timetable. Hence, they can provide their time for others such as family and friends. Another contributing factor is technological advancement, which allows people to generate their own income from what they are interested in. The technology offers more work opportunities. For example, many people become Youtuber, TikToker or Writer on their Facebook Page. These platforms not only offer them compensation but also inspire others through their career. However, there are several drawbacks about self-employment, including unstable income. Because they couldn’t predict the number of projects they will hire, crucial issues might affect some individuals. Moreover, the government does not offer welfare benefits for people who work by themselves. This means self-employed people tend to pay more for healthcare or other living expenses compared with company workers. For example, if company workers are infected by sickness they will offer free healthcare services at public hospitals, but self-employed people have to bear in mind this cost will be their responsibility. To conclude, there are several factors these days tempting people to be self-employed. This involves more income and flexible time management. On the other hand, there are some negative outcomes, in terms of unpredictable earning and without handsome welfare benefits. To prevent these following problems, governments should implement services for self-employed people to ensure their well-being and raise awareness of financial management among the general public.