Many people say that smoking should be banned while others say banning will not help reduce the consumption rate. What is your opinion?

The issue of smoking has sparked considerable debate in recent times. Some people contend that the government should ban smoking. In my opinion, I partly agree with the given perspective. This essay will discuss some reasons in support of my view. On the one hand, there are some arguments in favour of the idea that smoking should be illegal. To begin with, smoking is a major cause of numerous diseases, including lung cancer, heart disease, and stroke. As a result, a ban would significantly reduce the prevalence of these illnesses and improve overall public health. Furthermore, secondhand smoke is harmful to both adults and children, even if they do not smoke themselves. For example, people who are exposed to secondhand smoke can raise blood pressure and heart rate, increasing the risk of heart attack and stroke. Consequently, a ban would eliminate exposure to secondhand smoke in public places, protecting the health of non-smokers. On the other hand, there are several arguments to support the idea that banning will not help reduce the consumption rate. Initially, one main argument would be that some individuals said that they have the right to make their own choices about their health. They contend that adults should be free to make informed decisions about whether or not to smoke. Another argument would be that a ban could lead to the development of a black market for cigarettes, which could increase the profits of criminal organizations. For instance, Canada has seen the development of a black market for cigarettes, particularly in remote areas where legal tobacco products are difficult to access. All in all, the facts mentioned above have created a dilemma when people evaluated the effects of this issue, and it has still sparked controversy in recent years. I personally believe that it could have both sides, people should have further consideration on this issue.