in many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the average lifespan has been increasing all over the world. Some may argue that the ageing population creates difficulties for society, while others believe that it could lead to more merits for the public. This essay will discuss both views, before presenting my own. On the one hand, it is obvious that the elderly people are much more knowledgeable compared to the new generation. They definitely have a number of valuable experiences that young individuals could never have achieved before reaching middle age. If the government could establish and expand more opportunities for aged people, most of them would be able to work comfortably until their retirement. Moreover, they could play an essential role in families. Grandparents can take care of their grandchildren better than any other nannies. In this situation, mothers become able to get back to work as soon as possible. Also, new parents could save a significant amount of money, due to the fact that they don’t need nursery centres or babysitters anymore. For example, in Iran, the ratio of working mothers has been increasing, due to the fact that grandparents help them to raise their kids. On the other hand, looking after the elderly may require a huge budget. Most of them have some necessary needs that should be met. Consequently, the government must spend a lot on plenty of special facilities in cities. For example, London has started a new program that costs a fortune. It is about designing wide pavements in particular for old individuals. In conclusion, although taking care of the elderly could cost a lot or have some problems, having them is a great miracle for all of us. So I believe that the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages.