Cycling is the healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transportation. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

There are some benefits that people gain from cycling as it promotes their health and the peace of the environment although it has declined its popularity. The primary reasons for this come from increasing sedentary lifestyles as well as the improvement of transportation in modern society. Restriction on electric gadgets and the introduction of higher taxes on private cars would encourage more people to use bicycles. The first reason for the declining popularity of cycling is the increasing amount of time that people spend indoors due to the advancement of technology. In other words, electric tools such as smartphones and computers offer various entertainment from games to movies, discouraging people from going out to ride a bike. Furthermore, it has become more troublesome for people to do cycling as they are too comfortable with indoor lifestyles to go out for some exercise. Thus, putting some restrictions on the use of electric gadgets is likely to increase their interest in cycling as they would be bored doing nothing for fun at home. The second reason to make cycling less popular is the rapid progress of private vehicles, which allow people to travel to various spots more easily. Indeed, the convenience and comfort of individual cars reduce the number of people relying on their bikes as they are not much affected by the change of weather and they can also carry more people. In order to make cycling more attractive, the government should impose higher taxes on drivers for their growing damage to the environment. Consequently, more people will be forced to ride bikes as their financial concerns rise, which will play a positive role in preserving clean nature as the amount of pollutants emitted from cars declines. In conclusion, the number of those who enjoy cycling reduces gradually because of a rising standard of living brought about by modern technology, providing multiple services including games and movies, for which regulations should be necessary so people refrain from using their smartphones and computers. In addition, the growing comfort and easiness of cars also discourage them from cycling and higher taxes should be introduced to promote their use of bikes.