Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads, To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Roads and railways are two basic modes of transportation; however, it is commonly argued that the government needs to give more attention to railways than roads. I completely disagree with this statement, and in this essay, I will give an explanation of the opinion. To begin, proponents of railway stations argue that there is a need for more financial support to improve the facilities provided in them. Whereas, people are using roads for traveling rather than trains, and this is the reason for my disagreement. Nowadays, a majority of the population have their own private vehicles to travel, and they are using private transportation rather than trains. Therefore, highways should be given more importance than railways, and more money should be spent on them. Furthermore, in many countries, roads are underdeveloped, and this results in accidents on a daily basis. This is because street lanes are often getting damaged due to pipeline blasts or floods, and these are used by everyone for transportation, such as school buses, cabs, vans. Consequently, destruction of these lanes causes major accidents and damages vehicle tires. Hence, roads need more development than railway tracks because the condition of roads is getting worse day by day, leading to disasters. Moreover, highways provide us many facilities that railways cannot offer. For example, more convenient travel because when driving on a road, we can take a break and step out to eat, whereas, in trains, this feature is not available. That is why roads need more support than railways. To conclude, although railway is an excellent mode of transportation, roads provide more facilities, and they are used by many individuals. Therefore, the government should spend more on roads rather than railways.