Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In recent times, we can observe a significant increase in the number of multinational companies in developing countries. Whether this is a positive development or not remains to be a contentious topic, this essay discusses both the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. Developing countries are an attractive place for establishment of multinational companies as they provide cheap labor, and have potential for growth. In a recent interview, one of the most successful businessmen in the world, Elon Musk, said that he is planning to set up a few projects in India, which is a developing country, as it promises substantial growth in the coming years. Furthermore, this trend does not just benefit the companies, but also the local people as it increases job opportunities. Additionally, these companies also help in the economical growth of the company by being the major contributors of the gross domestic product. Nevertheless, not everybody is benefiting from this trend. Big multinational companies have created a monopoly over different sectors in the market, and as a consequence, it has caused a significant loss to small business owners. Moreover, it is causing the rich to become richer, while the middle and lower class people are constantly struggling to meet the daily needs. For instance, back in the days, a construction company would pick up tender from a small business at a reasonable price, which allowed reciprocal growth. However, nowadays, they have to sign contracts with these big companies to continue to exist in the market. This causes a loss to the construction company as well as the small business owner, while the only one benefiting is the owner of the multinational company. In conclusion, it is a truism that establishment of multinational companies in developing countries benefits both the company and the country. However, it neglects the struggles and problems faced by a vast majority of the population residing there.