It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaivour to children?

It is crucial to teach children in the right direction at an early age, some individuals suggest punishment is a potential tool for helping them learn effectively, I strongly agree with this notion. In the following paragraphs, the advantages and possible types of punishments will be discussed in detail before the conclusion is reached. To begin with, adequate punishments provide significant advantages for children. One of the key benefits is to be a powerful tool for parenting their offspring by reducing and eliminating undesirable behaviour such as lying, using rude or inappropriate language, talking back, ignoring and disregarding rules, besides it promotes the learning process in young people. With its effectiveness and understanding at any age, it become the fastest way to leading the right pathway for children in many households, leading to afraid of behaving bad things and ensuring to be a good citizen. However, while inappropriate physical punishments including beating with a rod or stick, pulling the child's ears, or rapping a child's head or emotional punishments such as humiliating, ignoring and threatening can affect negatively children's development, decreasing self-esteem and inducing rude behaviour, appropriated punishments that could be helpful for young people and students are grounding, which allow them to self-thinking and accept a mistake. Another good discipline is an increase in chores, promoting housework skills and increase time together with parents. In conclusion, punishments offer many advantages for children and parents such as a potential tools for parenting, promoting the learning process and minimising undesirable actions. However, this could bring a negative consequence for their offspring by using inappropriate punishment. Therefore, choosing the right method for teaching by a teacher or parent could create a good model citizen for society in the future.