Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A variety of world sports competitions, such as the Olympic Games, has been held in many countries for thousands of years. However, while some individuals believe, that organizing global occasions may result in a plethora of benefits for a holding region, others claim, that it takes extremely much expenditure for a country. In my personal opinion, both statements are true to a certain extent, but I think, that the disadvantages of welcoming international sports events outweigh the advantages. At first glance, both taking part in such world events and organizing them have a great impact on participating countries. If there are not enough sports facilities, which are usually required by world sports standards, a government will start subsidizing construction of new stadiums, swimming pools etc. Other sports places can be modernized by improving sports fields, indoor and outdoor sports amenities or enlarging fan areas, which leads to increasing people’s living conditions. Another positive side of holding such events is that after having organized it, the tourism sphere will begin to bloom as a lot of people around the world can be interested in visiting a new country not only for watching sports, but also for exploring new places. Nevertheless, there would be some negative effects of welcoming sportsmen during the Olympics. All modernizing and developing changes in tourism and sports spheres are supposed to raise huge amount of money, which might not pay off. Building spacious stadiums for crowds will definitely stay vacant after competitions as there will not be as many people as it would be during a certain sports event. Moreover, that money could be better spent on more necessary social and political issues, for example, famine, domestic violence, low-income households and others. So, if authorities paid more attention to those pressing social problems and invested in those spheres, the whole prestige of a country would be definitely higher, even without holding such great world events. Overall, as every plus has its own minus, hosting well-known sports events definitely involves side effects on the society and the economy of a country. However, it does not mean, that these kinds of events should not be less unattractive for regions, at least because only the combination of both can lead to the right decision.