Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others believe that zoos are beneficial for the conservation of endangered species. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many countries, zoos are great attraction points. In that respect, while some people believe that keeping animals in cages for entertainment is a ruthless practice, others argue that zoos contribute to protection of endangered animals. In my opinion, I completely agree that zoos are definetly merciless places and shouldn't exist. Firstly, animals belong to nature, not to small cages where they can barely move. Zoos often don't allocate large spaces for animals, causing them to feel stressed and anxious since they are used to live in large habitats such as savannahs and forests. For instance, in many zoos, large african elephants, which are one of the biggest animals on land, live in areas usually smaller than an acre. Secondly, keeping endangered animals in zoos is not the best solution for protecting them. Creating large protected natural reserves is much more effective method to conserve wildlife as animals can live freely without any human disturbance. In Serengeti National Park, various species can continue their existence and breed in a large and healthy ecosystem, promoting a larger extent of conversation. Moreover, the advanced technologies such as artificial intelligence can be utilized for surveillance in untrodden environments to protect animals, instead of keeping them in closed spaces cruelly. In conclusion, while the existence of zoos is considered beneficial as they can help to protect species, I strongly believe that they are unhumane because animals are live like prisoners behind the bars and zoos are not the only way to protect animals.