There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly argued whether non-academic subjects such as P.E or cookery should be eliminated from the group of compulsory subjects at school or not. While I acknowledge that core subjects are vital for students ' future career, I believe that non-academic subjects should be kept and taught at school. Granted, there are some justifiable reasons to say that non-academic subjects are often perceived as less important than core subjects. Chief of these is that students could lay the foundation that the workforce request. Since the majority of job opportunities require fundamental knowledge, such as analysis and language, having a sound knowledge and obtain a high-qualified certificate specialized in these subjects at school will make the students stand out other competitors at a recruitment, resulting in higher chances of employment. Additionally, students can spend more time on important subjects. Removing non-academic subjects offers students more time so that they can dedicate to delve deeper to their prioritized subjects aligned to their potential career, leading to a sound knowledge and higher academic performance. However, these lines of reasoning are relatively flawed, as the ubiquity of technology has shared a part of task at office, which aids human workplace by handling data and technical tasks that conventionally done by human, paving the way to focus more on creative and innovative jobs that technology cannot duplicate as the human ability. Therefore, I believe that there are more compelling reasons that non-academic should be adopted into school curriculum. One key reason is that it could offer a well-rounded development. Learning artistic subjects could offer students a break from their rigorous and hectic schedule at school where they are able to be immersed in and relaxed through soothing melodies at Music lesson, for example, preventing them from being stressed and burnout. Furthermore, non-academic subjects could be potential jobs. As not all students are excel and have interest in core subjects, these optional subjects provide them alternative pathway and allow them to identify and nurture their passion for learning at school, leading to more diverse and inclusive outcomes. In conclusion, although compulsory subjects are admittedly significant, including non-academic ones is also necessary to offer a more holistic development and potential employability.