In many cities, an increasing number of people do not know their neighbors and there is a lack of a sense of community. What are the causes of this problem? How can it be solved?

Nowadays, many of us are living in metropolitan cities and It has seen that people do not know, who is living next door to them. This is clearly a lapse of social intimacy that we had in the past. This essay will try to delve with the causes and solution of the mentioned issue. To begin with, there are a few factors behind this problem. Firstly, busy work schedule is one of the factors. In fact, in the modern era, people are working for long hours because they are living in the money minded and competative world. To illustrate, according to a study, average working hours per week have increased by one third, as compared to, the late ninetees. Therefore, people do not have any time to socialise with the neighbours. Furthermore, individuals try to be in their own private space. As a matter of fact, these days, generally people are very protective about their privicy and they do not allow any outsider to disturb it because of this reason people do not take initiative to know each other. Hence, they love to be in their own private affairs that causes lack of sense of community. In order to, solve the issue, residents living in societies should form social groups. Which can arrange social get-togethers, which will not only provides an opportunity for the people to meet each other but also could act as a medium to form a social nexus among individuals. To sum up, lack of sense of neighbour hood is caused by workohlic culture and privicy reasons but it can be solved by forming social groups in housing societies, which gives a chance to the residents to know each other and form a social bond.