some argue that it is better to talk to friend and not family about problems. To what extent you agree or disagree.

In recent years, discussions related to the choice between sharing with friends or family and its two-sided impact on emotional well-being are on the rise. Some suggest that people prefer seeking comfort and consolation by pouring out their troubles with friends, and others argue that sometimes it could backfire on us if we choose the wrong one to confide in. I strongly agree that we should let ourselves unfold in front of friends, not family. To begin with, distinct growing environments could lead to a generation gap between us with older family members, including education backgrounds, outside world information, national reality, financial conditions, personal experience and other decisive factors that could define our personalities and mentalities. For example, parents are usually less educated compared to their children due to china’s national situation at last century. The lack of education could often lead to damaged personality such as close-minded, arrogant, selfish and impatient, stimulating parents to objectify children as their belongings rather than an independent individual. Consequently, parents will attempt to control their children’s life in the trajectory they wish instead of relating to their children’s problems. This phenomenon emphasizes the negative impact of turning to parent, that is, the reasons above have caused parents ’ emotional ignorance of their children. In contrast, there is a widespread belief that sharing with friend is more beneficial. One major factor is that friendship enable a more equitable, objective and judgement-free environment to share. Moreover, effective communication lays the foundation of a healthy friendship, which is part of the reasons why we feel secure to confide and also a downside of our relationship with parents, since we were assigned to our parents yet we could choose who to befriend with. Friends, typically of similar age and life stage, are more likely to relate directly to issues at hand. Meanwhile, the voluntary nature of such relationships means that individuals could choose a similar one to share with since this common ground nurtures a sense of mutual understanding on an equal footing. As a result, we turn to our friends more when situations deteriorate or escalate, since it’s almost like pouring oil on the flames if we talk to the wrong person when we feel vulnerable, especially some parents who might be the cause of our vulnerability and emotional instability. Hence, it is apparent that friends represent more positive listeners, offering both emotional security and valuable insights, which can be crucial in times of need. In conclusion, it is evident that friends often emerge as more appropriate confidants for personal issues due to the distinctions of the genuine relationship nature between us with friends and family. As a result, it would be a lot more beneficial to talk our issues to friends rather than family in the long run.