Some schools are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupils, while other schools have a very relaxed dress code. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children of having a school uniform?

A high number of schools consider their uniform mandatory for students, whereas others allow a casual dress code. In my perspective, the advantages of a relaxed dress code outweigh the disadvantages for numerous reasons. Firstly, low-income parents will be able to afford the price of uniforms. Instead of paying multiple outfits for their children, they will only purchase one or two uniforms. This will contribute to lowering the budget for studying and allow the poorest families to provide education to their children. Furthermore, learners' focus will be concentrated on studying rather than choosing an outfit. Teenagers will use the time that is spent on picking an outfit for studying, reading, or even contacting peers. On the other hand, applying a dress code will suppress creativity and variety. These schools are characterized by restrictions which prohibit most adolescents from expressing and showing their identity. For example, a young adult who is interested in fashion will be limited by only one fixed dress code throughout the entire education pathway, which will affect his fashion career. In conclusion, despite limiting the creativity resurgence and expressing students' identity, the advantages of a fixed dress code will aid poor families and drag students' attention into studying which is what schools are for.