It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In recent years it has been witnessed a decrease in the number of students who decided to pursue the study of science as a subject. The main reason is that school programs do not focus enough on science -related subjects so the basic knowledges of these fields are not considered enough by the students. For sure it will have catastrophic consequences on society because science is crucial for the development of future innovations. From a certain point of view, students are scared of not being able to pursue a career in science because of the pervasive myth of how hard it is to study science and to have success in that field. As a consequence of that always fewer students choose that as the main subject of their studies. In addition, there is a big gender difference between males and females because women undergo the prejudice of not having the same capacities as men to become scientists. For example, many universities try to encourage women to attend scientific and STEM courses through economic benefits tailored specifically for them. Results from what I have been previously highlighted is that this reduction of people who are invested in scientific fields has a huge impact on society. It is extremely important to focus on scientific research because it is what guarantees progress and innovation and better our life conditions. As revealed by our modern technological revolution, nothing that is now part of our everyday life would be here if it were not for scientific progress. To conclude, it is fundamental that schools invest more on scientific programs because science is what really guarantees the progress of our society and it is a loss for everybody the reduction of students who pursues it.