Some people think that outdoor activities are more beneficial for children’s development than playing computer games. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is discussed whether outdoor activities or indoor ones such as playing computer games have more benefits for children’s development. I do agree with those who believe that outdoor activities have a more positive impact on children, on their health and foster their socialization skills. On the one hand, playing outside and being in nature is extremely good for physical and mental health. Spending time outside is key to a healthy lifestyle, indeed sun and physical activity are both extremely important. Furthermore, staying outside makes it easier to meet new friends and so learn how to socialize with their other peers. On the contrary, computer games can lead to social isolation and unable to confront others. For instance, studies suggests that children who learn how to interact with one another at a young age will find it more easy also in the future. On the other hand, computer games for sure help develop other types of capacities and skills, related to different areas of the brain. Playing computer games helps develop problem-solving skills and improve a certain type of coordination. However, there are many more skills which equally are improved through outdoor activities, such as creativity, spatial orienteering in the surrounding environment and it also preserves their attention span. To conclude, I agree that outdoor activities are more beneficial for children's development than playing computer games even though also these can have a certain positive impact on children’s development.