With increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays oil and gas are the major non-renewable sources of energy. Although a significant part of the world continues to share the idea that these kind of sources are the ones which we should invest on, there is a likewise large part which carries on a different idea. Indeed, in the present day many renewable sources of energy have been studied for decades. This essay will address some of the reasons why renewable sources are preferable, and balance them with the opposite position, in order to illustrate the disadvantages of an economy based on oil and gas. To start with, non-renewable energy sources, such as oil and gas, are responsible for many environmental problems. Above all, climate change is the perfect example. Many studies demonstate the link between the increase in the use of petroleum and global warming. Moreover, their production processes represent a huge cost, allowing only few people to become very wealthy, to the detriment of the overall economy of a country. Nevertheless, one might argue that oil and gas are still more efficient sources, because they do not depend on external conditions, such as the weather, which are out of human control. Therefore, to open up undiscovered areas of the world seeking more of these resources is at least a debatable decision. However, even if we would admit that non-renewable sources are more efficient and easier to produce than renewable ones, they will extinguish sooner or later. Additionally, the costs in term of environmental print will never be justified. In conclusion, this essay deals with disadvantages and possible advantages to an economy based on oil and gas. Anyhow, it is evident that such an economy would not be sustainable. For this reason, I competely disagree with the potential investment of money in the research of undiscovered areas for the extraction of non-renewable sources. Instead, I encourage investments for improving clean-power research.