The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the healthcare system as it deals with associated health issues. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

From the beginning of time food has caused most of the problems of the earthly population. Nowadays, the situation has not changed much. In many countries the healthcare system is being threatened by the number of overweight people, since this condition causes a lot of associated health issues. In order to mitigate the effects of this problem, some schools are increasing the amount of physical education classes. This is a very good initiative, but is it sufficient? Everyone agrees on the importance of physical education at school. It is crucial for the students to start including sport in their daily life at a young age. Therefore, increasing the hours of P.E. at school may surely be a blessing for young people, who get to incorporate physical exercise in their routine. In this way the school system tries to create a good habit, which should be kept also in the future adult life of students. Nevertheless, increasing P.E. lessons in the school curriculum is not sufficient. School time covers a relatively short time of the day, and of the week. Considering also the holiday breaks, it is not hard to believe that students spend half of their time outside of school. Consequently, a positive attitude towards food in the daily famly life is fundamental. In conclusion, physical education inside of the school walls is important, but it has to be complemented with a good education also outside of them. For this purpose, implementing the information also with the help of newspapers and mass media communication can really make a difference.