Some people say that supermarkets should have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging for products they sell. Others say it is the resposibility of the consumers to avoid such products. Discuss and give your opinion.

It is highly debatable nowadays, that the packaging of products affects the enviornemnt enormously. The argument is who is responsible for this, manufacturers and supermarkets or the consumers. In the below essay, I will discuss both the views and present my view. On one side, many argue that supermarkets should bear the responbility and must decrease the amount of packagaing for the goods they are selling. Reason being, they are the one, displaying the products in their stores to attract the consumers. If they will move towards sustainable approcah which will be using bio-degradable products. This will benefit the enviornment and further incentivize the manufacturer to adopt greener and renewable approach while packing the products. For instance, some grocery chains have adopted bulk buying approach to reduce the waste. On the other side, it comes to the responsibilty of the buyers of the products. Consumers should take initiative towards eco-friendly packaging. Hence, support the manufacturer and the supplier. For example, customers must go for recycled packaging or resuable bags. This approach will give the supermarkets an idea about their consumer's choice, which will assist them to make their decisions. Also, by making conscious decisions about their purchases customers can drive demand for sustainable products. According to my perspective, the decision of reducing waste and promoting a greener enviornment goes hand in hand. The customers and supermarkets collaboratively contribute to this factor. Although, the onus largely falls on the manufacturers and supermarkets, but the customers contribute significantly by making their decisions. Thus, both the parties should come forward and put their efforts to foster a change in the society.