Social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face – to – face contact in this century. Do you think the advantage of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media has been changed people's behaviour to interact each other as the face-to-face communication does not compulsory anymore. I believe that this will give many advantages as increasing the effectiveness to conduct meeting and contributing to reduce carbon emissions in travels as well. First of all, social media has made meetings can be conducted effectively. Previously, people required to spare their time for mobilisation for moving to another meeting. But now, people can move to another meeting by one click on their screen. This can reduce our lead time which is beneficial for people who have busy agendas that usually require more time for mobilisation. This fact has been proven from several testimonies that they can add one or more agendas during their working hours due to online meeting. Furthermore, replacing physical meeting to online meeting contributes to reduce carbon emissions in travelling. It is because travelling for business purposes is one of the most frequent reasons to travel that contributes one of largest emissions, especially international travel. Currently, it is not an urge to have face to face meetings because it has been accomodated by using social media. For instance, a conference involving international participants can be conducted by using online meeting apps, such as Google Meet or Zoom without requiring to physically attend. In conclusion, social media has many good influences in people's life because it helps people to conduct meeting effectively and preserve the environment, particularly on travelling. Hence, the benefits of using social media will outweigh the drawbacks.