Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experiences. Write at least 250 words.

Plastic usage be it in the form of bags, bottles or packaging have serious impact on our surroundings. In the following paragraphs, we will dive into the harmful effects of plastic on the environment alongwith some suggestions to solve the issue. To begin with, one of the major damage plastic causes is because of its longevity as it does not decompose easily and stay at the same place for years which further results in soil and land pollution. As when you dump something plastic in the garbage, which is further collected by the municipal to the deposition site where garbage is left for decomposition. Plastic seems to be the only thing which doesnot doesn't decay and stays same for many years. If, by any chance, some stray animal consumes it, can cause serious health issues which might lead to the death of the animal. Being aware of the seriousness of the situation, the government authoritites have taken some measures to reduce the use of plastic. For instance, in developed countries such as Canada, America and Austraila local authorities have banned the use of plastic bags at the grocery stores, even for take-outs, restaurents have started serving the wooden cutlery instead of plastic ones. All these measures seem to lower the plastic usage to a significant level. However, efforts from government are not enough as general public need to take some measures from their end too. First of all, people should make sure that they follow all the guidelines given by the local government. Following this, they should encourage themselves for using reusable bags for shopping. To conclude, government alone can not function to completely reduce the use of plastics, they would need the support of public in order to implement the rules.