In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, many countries confront a dramatic decline in population in rural areas because residents tend to migrate to metropolitan regions. Personally, I firmly believe that this situation could have both positive and negative impacts on the countryside. On the one hand, depopulation in rural areas might have some advantages. The first thing worth mentioning is the environment. It could be cleaner because the population density declines. In other words, the air would be fresher because the number of private vehicles diminishes when people leave these places, improving the health and well-being of people who choose to stay. Moreover, job opportunities would scale up because of the shortage of experienced workforce. So skilled people could find a high-paying job in their hometowns, increasing their income to enhance the quality of life. Nonetheless, there are severe drawbacks when the inhabitants escape from their hometowns to move to modern areas. First of all, it is evident that peasants make up the majority of the population in the countryside. That is why when they relocate to metropolises, the process of producing staple crops could be slow and disrupted. Accordingly, it could harmfully influence a country’s chain of food. Furthermore, leaving rural regions could cause these places to become abandoned, and the infrastructure, such as buildings, transport, and water supply, would deteriorate rapidly. Therefore, the trading market in these places would stagnate significantly, leading to a downtrend in the country's economic growth rate. In conclusion, the reduction in population density in the countryside could have benefits, including the environment and job opportunities, and disadvantages, such as food supply and economic problems.