In the past, important knowledge about culture and history was stored in museums. Nowadays, information is freely available on the Internet; therefore, there is no longer any need for museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

People argue that there is no significant meaning for museums to exist, while information about history and culture can be freely accessed online, contemporarily. However, I firmly disagree with the idea. Undoubtedly, through the rapid advance in technologies, people are now able to learn knowledge of culture and history on their laptops. For instance, individuals can borrow literatures in online libraries, view a publication on wiki and take a virtual tour of museum if available. Comparing to a physical museum that finite in scale and size, the internet could place to store and display the information of humanity more efficiently. Most importantly, the publics can choose and locate the knowledge they interested about regardless which part of the world they were from. However, there are drawbacks came with those knowledge sources on internet, as well. Online contents could be wrong. Unlike those stored in the museums, where most of knowledge were based on former studies and edited by professionals, it is hard for individual to separate whether the website is printing accurate descriptions about something. In that case, virtual information could be misleading something, which would counter the initial purposes of learning. Furthermore, visiting museums is a valuable opportunity to appreciate the collections within close distance. Although people may view pictures, videos and virtual guide online, standing front of a physical object in the reality could be a completely different visual effect. Therefore, closing museums would be an immature thought. While information and knowledge could be misleading and less attractive on the internet, museums take an irreplaceable position providing accurate records of culture and history, as well as an opportunity to contact the collection face to face.