Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crimes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Argument regards to whether the development of technology could reduce crime rate has been raised at recent time. This essay will discuss both side of the view and conclude my own opinion at the end. Proponents suggest the advance in technology would contribute to the mitigation in crime rate. The major aspect of this idea is that the security department of the city could utilise those newly introduced tools to observe and investigate crime scenes more efficiently. For instance, it was reported that the installation of full coverage CCTV network in London has significantly lowering the number of pick-pocket in the city. With those advanced monitoring techniques, illegal behaviour can be hardly hide from the camera. Consequently, less people would try to break the law since they could be easily found by the police. Although the rate of crime within the cities has seen dramatical reduction, the development of technology brought drawbacks as well. For instance, cyber-attacks. While information technology has covered many aspects of the society, the privacy of individuals might not be properly protected. People may receive phishing email with their accurate personal information on it, as a result of illegal personal data trade in black-market. This might cause substantial financial loss of the citizens. Moreover, newly developed tools may also being utilised by criminals, making crimes can be simply conducted. Thus, the technology could have stimulation effects on illegal acts. In conclusion, the advance in technology has a two-sides impacts on the illegal activities, contemporarily. The decrease in traditional crimes may have been transfer to newly derived forms. Therefore, it is crucial to introduce new laws, new approaches along with the forwarding techniques to mitigate and prevent crime from happening.