Children nowadays watch significantly more television than those in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this the case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activüy among children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

These days, it has been noticed that kids spend more time watching television when compared to the past and this has led to increased sedentary lifestyles among them. This problem is due to parent's long working hours and modern family rules however this can be tackled by encouraging parents to spend quality time with their offspring and also allow their children to bond with neighbours or friends. To begin with, young ones spend a significant hour of the day watching TV shows than in the past because unlike in the old times when mothers were full housewives and their primary responsibility was to care for their home nowadays wives now have to work and both parents spend half of their day at working afterwards they come back home tired which result into lesser time for interaction with children.In other to avoid distractions from children when parents are trying to prepare meals or planning for the next working day they permit their children to watch television increasing their inactive period and screen time. In addition, modernization has made families teach their young ones to always stay indoors and not go out to play with their neighbors or friends which was not so in the past. In the olden days after school and during weekends kids were allowed to go out to play with each other while their parents watched them from afar which encouraged diverse physical activities among them such as running,playing hide and seek or rolling unused tyres and this promoted the raising of active children.In this contemporary era elites like to showcase their economic class and don't want their children to mix with random people but most of their kids are left with spending their time watching TV. For example, children who come from a rich family or whose parents are well-educated are always indoors watching animations or educational programs creating little time to be physically active with friends outside. However, this problem can be solved by encouraging parents to take up jobs that will create time for their family and when they are at home they should spend time engaging their children in activities such as teaching them how to ride a bicycle or gardening. For instance, research has shown that children whose parents spend quality time with them and join them to participate in activities around the home are less likely to be predisposed to sedentary lifestyle diseases. Furthermore, permitting youngsters to play outdoors with their peer groups increases their daily activity levels which is beneficial to their health. Children learn from their age groups faster than from their parents so when they actively interact with people of their age they usually meet their developmental milestones as when due in the absence of an underlying condition. In conclusion, in recent times young ones of nowadays tend to spend quality period watching TV programs than in the past which has led to increasing in activity levels because of their busy parent schedules at work and changesI'm in family rules but this can be tackled by encouraging mothers or fathers to take up jobs that will give room for family bonding and also parents should allow their children to involve in outdoor interactions with peer groups.