Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Individuals argue that only a small part of families recycle their waste, and the only way to solve this is through government legislation. I disagree with this view to a large extent. There are several reasons why I believe that legislation is not the only useful way to improve this question. One of the reasons is that with the development of social media, the government can upload some posts and videos to cultivate an awareness of environmental protection which can lead to recycling waste. Furthermore, it is a fact that most people lack knowledge about how to recycle rubbish by category, if the government want to enhance the quantity of recycled waste, strengthening education in schools, companies and communities is essential. Admittedly, some people may argue that the law is the strongest way to let people know the importance of recycling since they will be punished as long as they do not recycle rubbish so that they can remember this as a rule to obey. However, they forget the fact that due to the lack of recycling education, only a few people know how to recycle waste by category, if the government legislate immediately, it will be hard to promote and will cause dissatisfaction among the public. Overall, I am certain that legislation is a good way to let the public remember to recycle waste, but it is not the only way we can choose, as many other ways can raise awareness of environmental protection more smoothly.