Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and peoms. To what extend do you agree and disagree?

One of the main subjects taught in schools is the English Language, specifically literature. This invloves reading, comprehending, and analyzing pieces of writing such as poems and novels. Although many people enjoy this subject and understand the value of the insight it provides, others, on the other hand, argue that it is a waste of the students' time and energy. This essay argues that the literature course should be mandated in all schools due to its significance not only in broadening the students ' knowledge, but also in teaching them crucial reading skills and text analysis strategies. To commence, it is pivotal to understand that studying literature involves reading many pieces of texts written by many prominent authors, and cover a variety of genres, including classics, historical texts, romance, and melancholy. This allows students to gain knowledge about the language utilized back then, as well as the traditional practices of the past. Moreover, this helps students develop their literally skills by encountering difficult and high-level vocabulary. For instance, the language used in the olden days is commonly inferred to be challenging, so immersing in literally studies enables youngesters to learn more words, and become more proficient in the language. Most if not all university majors involve reading textbooks which is often a challenge to students who don't have a good foundation in analyzing literature and reading between the lines. Taking literature courses at school helps students learn strategies on how to breakdown complex content into understandable parts. This skill is essential for college attendants where a lot of reading and research is involved. An epitome of this is medicine, where reading textbooks and articles is a huge part of the cirriculum. Therefore, attending literature classes can help sharpen comprehension skills that comes in handy during the pursuit of higher education. Ultimately, I believe that having excellent reading and comprehension skills stems from undertaking literature classes, signifying its importance. Therefore, I advocate for mandating this subject.