Nowadays longer distances are travelled by people to work and study on a daily basis. Some consider it to be a negative development, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The human population growth has been experienced by almost all countries since the beginning of 20th century. As a result, residential areas are being developed further from the business district where most offices located. This inherently creates issues such as increased travel time and pollutions. On the other hand, some believe that living in a home further from workplace gives an opportunity to wind down after long hours of hardwork. This essay explains both views of having to travel longer distance to work and study as a routine. First of all, when more housing are spreading outside the city centre, workers spend more time on the road which increases the carbon pollution. In addition to that, due to the volume of transportations everyday, it poses a higher risk of road accidents. These impacts are inevitable when people start moving away from the CBD. In contrast, researchers have shown that the quality of life increases when residents live further away from the city centre as houses will be segregated from the noise pollution coming from busy area. Furthermore, this increases the development on unestablished area which possibly creates another business opportunities. Looking the history of most developed countries, they started by exploring new area every year to accomodate housing demands until all became integrated. In conclusion, living away from workplace or school pose its own advantages and drawbacks. The main benefit is improved quality of life and the disadvantage lies on the increased road time which inadvertently raises the pollution rate from gas engine.