Traditional medicine, such as acupuncture and herbal remedies, is very popular in some countries. Those who practise traditional medicine claim it is better than modern medicine in maintaining and improving health. Do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint?

In some parts of the world, traditional medicine practioners claimed to have better result in curing illness than modern medicine, such as doctors, leading to high popularity. I personally disagree with this statement and I will elaborate more in this essay. Firstly, the traditional healers do not have any scientific based evidence in improving health. As they usually practice based on experiences only, their medicine is not trustworthy and credible. Thus, it leads to worse cases that may happen to their patients. For example, in Indonesia, many people prefer to go to traditional healers for reducing pain when they have injured their ankles. The healers then usually give them some massages on the injured areas and prescripted natural treatments. They may temporarily feel better in their ankle, however, by doing only some massages, they do not know there is a potential serious damaged in the internal area of the body. Secondly, there is no official standard in using traditional remedies. In order to prescript some herbal treatments, many traditional practitioners do not have biological based sources. If something bad happened to their patients' health conditions, they usually asked them to go to hospital because they do not have any further treatment. For instance, in Sulawesi, a traditional healer asks old people to drink snake's blood for maintaining health, whereas based on scientific research, the blood contains much bacteria. As result, some elderlies have disease complications due to this suggestion. In conclusion, it seems that the lack of scientific evidence is a substantial drawback for having traditional medicine, therefore, visiting doctors appear to be a preferrable practice when we are sick.