Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also people nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is a hazardous activity that is capable of harming not only the smokers, but also individuals near by them. For that reason, many people argue that smoking in public spaces should be illegal. This essay will examine my opinion on this issue. I firmly believe that smoking in public areas must deffinetly be banned for plenty of reasons. The smoke exhaled by smokers might cause some serious lung issues for the people near by. A recent study in Canada has proven that ninety percent of people who spend alot of time next to smokers get very dangerous lung diseases. Besides that, many young people might get negatively influenced by smokers in public spaces and mimic their unhealthy smoking habits. A social study worker in NewYork city has once published a documentary about this phenomenal, and proved how often it happens. Another reason why smoking in public should be banned, is to reduce the amount of time smokers spend on consumig their ciggarette. A recent Chinese research has shown that countries that ban smoking in public, have relatively a decreasing number of individuals who smoke. However, I partially disagree with banning smoking in public places for some reasons. It might take away some smokers ' rights to behave the way they want to in public, which is considered taking away a human's right. Some social scientists have also proved that not allowing smokers to consume their ciggarettes whenever they want, might cause them some serious mental issues. The decision of banning smoking in public can also be quiet irrational sometimes. That's because some smokers are seriously addicted to this unhealthy habit of smoking. Pharmacists have actually spoken out on this issue, and they proved how impossible it is to quit smoking habits for some smokers. In conclusion, it is clear to see that there are variety of reasons why smoking in public should be banned. On the other hand, there are also many other reasons that make this idea a not very helpful one. From my point of view, smoking is a habit that should be illegal to practise in public.