In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today’s contemporary era, new products are entering the market on a daily basis, and the competition is substantially increasing. As a consequence, most companies try to showcase that their products offer something new in their advertisements. Personally, I believe that this is a negative development because these businesses are blinded by the need to be on top, they often make false promises. Nowadays, in every industry, there are a plethora of products to choose from, be it a variety of toothbrushes or types of wardrobes. For businesses to maintain their demand in the market, it is indeed necessary for them to present products that make them stand out, and further show why they should be preferred over other brands. For instance, there are two mattresses- one that advertises that it is soft and would provide a good night’s sleep, whereas the other advertises having an inbuilt feature that adjusts to the body’s shape, moreover, it is very soft and would help you a get a comfortable sleep. The second mattress would certainly attract more attention as it claims to be more advanced and has additional features. However, this upcoming trend has plenty of disadvantages. To prove that their product is better, these companies often make some claims that are not entirely true. For instance, a very famous Indian brand, Patanjali, promised its audience that its toothpaste would fight off all the germs and would help to treat many mouth diseases. As a result of these claims, many people preferred it and delayed getting an actual treatment, however, it was later discovered that these promises were not based on empirical evidence. Furthermore, the court had to warn the brand to stop advertising untrue facts. In conclusion, because of a growing market, there is a need for brands to reach the audience. Many businesses believe that it is prudent to advertise their products to be of the newest technology, so they can stand out and flourish. They are often ignorant of the detrimental effects this might have on the users. Therefore, all things considered, I believe that this is a negative development; furthermore, companies should advertise true evidence-based information.