At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of these situations outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s time, some countries experience a decreasing number of elderly population compared with the number of working-age people. This has benefits as well as drawbacks. This essay will discuss pros and cons of this imbalance between older and younger population and explain why I believe that advantages outweighs. On the one hand, a higher number of younger people means an increased number of working people. It is good for the country’s economy as the more people work the less they depend on the government for financial purposes. The government can spend the taxpayers money on the key areas such as education and healthcare instead of spending to manage the elderly people. On the other hand, elderly people are important in many ways. Firstly, they pass down culture, family values and tradition to the younger generation. Therefore, loss of old age people means loss for younger people to know about their identity. In addition, not only they teach their kids about heritage, but also they share their lived experiences which cannot be found in anybook. For example, for a lot of leaders and entrepreneurs, grandparents were their inspirations. In conclusion, I strongly believe that disadvantages outweighs the advantages as most of the time younger generation can learn about their family values, culture and etc from the internet, but economy and higher standard of living are far more important.