You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is debatable that students should learn the science of food and how to prepare it in school. Some people agree with the statement, while others view it as a waste of time and that school time should be used in studying important subjects. In my perspective, I agree that it would be better for the students to focus on core subjects during school time. Studying about food and how to prepare it does benefit the students in many ways. One realistic advantage of it is that it is a needed skill in adulthood. Having the knowledge about food can better prepare the students for the future when they have to live by themselves. Besides that, they would be more aware of their health and able to take care of themselves in any event of emergency. For example, when there is a storm moving to the area where they are living and it is advised for everyone to stay at home, being able to cook and utilize the ingredients would help them keep themselves full. However, despite being advantageous to the students, I do think it is more important for them to focus on the core subjects during school time. One reason is that science of food and how to prepare it can be studied in their free time as there are many short courses available online as well as during the weekends. Students can choose to study based on their preference as the majority of the teenagers around their age are not very interested in studying about food. Moreover, the students should prioritize the core subjects which they will be taking during exams. Science of food and how to prepare it is not as important as the rest of the subject since it is not a compulsory subject in the exams syllabus. In conclusion, although studying about food can benefit the students in their daily lives, I do think it is more important for them to focus on the important subject during school time as learning about science of food can be done outside of the school period.