Some people think that technology is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others argue that the opposite is true. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that technology is playing a key role in separating the rich from the poor, others believe that it is actually bringing them together. While technology comes with a cost and only affluent individuals can take advantage of it, I believe tech has unlocked many avenues through which people, rich and poor alike, are able to understand each other better. On the one hand, as modern gadgets and infrastructures keep improving, the cost associated with it also witness a surge. More the price of internet, cellphones, computers etc rise, more the disconnect with people who cannot afford it increases. Parallely, individuals who have the ability to make these purchases stay hinged to these gadgets increasingly. Both the segments now lie on the opposite end of the social spectrum. For example, in India the habit of making payments via UPI has become so prevalent since its launch in 2016, that citizens are not even carrying small denominations, which earlier used to fill a beggar's pocket. On the other hand, with the advancement in state-of-the-art mechanisms various different ways of interaction has been popping up. Social media platforms now circulate more information about the deprived community than ever. This is possible due to the fact that their algorithm is ensuring more better-off users to engage with such content. Through this process, many in crisis are also getting relief through collective effort from all around the world. For example, the recent escalated conflict between Israel and Palestine have gained significant exposure on Twitter to such an extent that there is a woldwide protest against it. I'm sure majority of those literally affected by the conflict are not on the platform. This is the why I believe that despite its economical implications technology indeed makes a society cohesive. In conclusion, modern devices and supercomputers etc are reducing the difference between the rich and the poor, and the idea that the divide between them is increasing due to it is flawed.